Matt Corby Takes Out Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition Top Prize

Matt Corby Takes Out Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition Top Prize

The soaring vocals and lush music of Matt Corby’s hit single Miracle Love have seen the song claim first place in the 2019 Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition.

The Dann Hume co-write appeared on Corby’s acclaimed 2018 Rainbow Valley LP, which The Music described as “bold and refreshing”, and the win comes just days out from his appearance at Splendour In The Grass.

Corby and Hume beat some tough competition to claim the top honour and its accompanying cash prize of $50,000, courtesy of APRA AMCOS, Alberts and BMG, with more than 3,683 entries across 48 countries this year.

“This song was a special one for Matt and I, one of the first songs we wrote together after a few years between his albums,” Hume said.

“No idea what would come, when it was finished it felt like it had always existed and we just happen to find it buried in the backyard studio of his house. I’m so grateful that such a positive song burrowed into the hearts and ears of our peers and genuinely humbled by this moment.”

The competition’s second place $10,000 prize has been awarded to Sarah Aarons for The Middle, which was recorded by Zedd, Maren Morris and Grey, while Sahara Beck’s Here We Go Again takes out the $5,000 third prize.

“To have been acknowledged in this way for an art form, for something that I love and have put so much of my time and energy into – it is the highest honour,” Beck said.

“In the time Tony [Buchen, producer/co-writer] and I worked together he pushed me harder than anyone had before and I’m so proud of what we have created together. This prize will allow me to continue to write and produce more of my music.”

The $5,000 Unpublished prize also returns this year and has been taken out by Melbourne singer-songwriter Kaiit for her single Miss Shiney, co-written by Michael Lee Chan, Mohamed Komba, Vincent Goodyer and Nicholas Martin.

“So thankful to have won this award for literally MY WORDS; words on things I have gone through, felt, needed to express, and being recognised for that, I’m so appreciative,” Kaiit said.

Last year, Amy Shark’s breakout song Adore came in first, with previous recipients also including Kimbra, Isabella Manfredi and more.